Uncategorized

Wanderlust

Wanderlust: a strong desire to travel

One day I want to pack myself a suitcase and travel across the globe. I want to see everything, the good, the bad and the ugly. I want to leave this world knowing I have experienced as much of it as one can in a lifetime.

I want to visit Edinburgh Castle in Scotland and learn all about the historic events that took place upon the volcanic rock.

I want to visit Norway and see its unique coastline, broken pieces of land scattered across the sea.

I want to visit the European Parliament in Brussels, Belgium and take a tour of the Plenary Chamber, a building where decisions that affect over 500 million people are made.

I want to walk through what remains of Auschwitz in Poland and whisper an almost wordless prayer for all the tortured souls lost on the land.

I want to visit St. Petersburg, Russia in winter and watch the snow fall on one of the world’s most beautiful cathedrals.

I want to see the Statue of David in Florence, Italy and walk the streets of the city that once was the home of some of the world’s greatest artists.

I want to travel to the village of Qunu, South Africa, the home and burial spot of Nelson Mandela, a man who inspired and will continue to inspire for many decades.

I want to visit the village of Baga, Nigeria and meet the survivors of the massacre and listen to their story as no one else seems to be listening to them.

I want to walk through the skyscrapers of New York, USA and visit Ground Zero, the place where it all began.

I want to travel to Ontario, Canada to see Niagara Falls, one of the most breath-taking views created by nature.

I want to teach English to school children in China while simultaneously learning about the countries extraordinary culture, so different to the one I was brought up in.

I want to experience the markets in New Delhi, India and go on a rickshaw tour of the city.

I want to go on an elephant safari in Bali, Indonesia so I can watch the beautiful creatures who have always fascinated me.

I want to see Tokyo, Japan, the industrial city, lit up at night time, advertisement lights shining brighter than any star in the sky.

I want to go scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef and spend Christmas on a beach in Australia.

I want to read this post again in later years and smile at what are no longer ambitions but incredible memories.

Leave a Reply

