Poetry

Night Travels

You in the driver’s seat

And I’m the front passenger

When it’s dark outside

We travel winding country roads

Searching for another house

With only the terrible directions

Adolescent boys tend to give.

Taking wrong turns as we

Talk and talk and talk.

*

You in the driver’s seat

And I’m the front passenger

Offering to accompany you

Feigning eagerness because

I know you hate to travel alone.

We park at the front of the driveway

And wait to hear the sound of

Heels, laughter and loud goodbyes.

We talk to pass the time,

Talk and talk and talk.

*

You in the driver’s seat

And I’m the front passenger

Bonding without looking,

Just staring out at the dark road

Revealing secrets not even alcohol

Could force from us, any excuse to

Talk and talk and talk.

*

You in the driver’s seat

And I’m the front passenger

Thinking how glad I am

For coming, and now

I no longer fake eagerness when

It comes to night travels with you.

For all I want is to sit beside you and

Talk and talk and talk.

9 thoughts on “Night Travels

Leave a Reply

