Poetry

Hands

Hands, hands, hands

Hands everywhere

Grabbing at me

Touching me

Get away from me!

*

Once loved hand, wrapped around my upper arm

Squeezing it too tight, say you love me!

Young hands around my young throat, smile on your face

And it wasn’t a metaphor

Foreign hands, up my school skirt, substitute for a bottle

Hands that only got so far.

*

Hands, hands, hands

Hands everywhere

Soothing me

Touching me

Never let go!

*

Hands wrapped around me, holding me close

Telling me it will be okay

Hands on my back, encouraging me forward

Gently moving up and down

Loving hands, write me a story

And tell it with your hands

*

Hands, hands, hands

Hands everywhere

Haunting me

Loving me

And I can never forget either.

7 thoughts on “Hands

  1. Very beautiful way of translating the actions of others into and object so relatable. Our hands. Good to reflect on what our own hands are doing. Though I am wounded to hear the trouble you’ve faced, but happy you seem to have loving hands now. Great poem! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

