Poetry

A Response to Ogden Nash’s “Reflections on Ice-Breaking”

Fill me with alcohol

And I guess you’ll get to know me quicker-

But not the real me, a different me

One who is no friend of mine.

Loud and often easy,

With an ability to talk nonsense

And call it philosophy

Fill me with liquor, pollute my senses,

And meet a girl

Who can offer cold heat, not warmth.

*

But give me sweetness,

And you’ll get to know the real me

The only version I want you to meet

Show me a dash of kindness (hold the alcohol)

And I’ll open up my mind, my thoughts

So we can form a sober relationship

It will be slow, without the alcoholic rush

My words won’t flow as quick

But with the warmth I can offer,

We won’t need to worry about “ice-breaking”

3 thoughts on “A Response to Ogden Nash’s “Reflections on Ice-Breaking”

    1. Thank you! Yes, you are more than welcome to post it on your account, maybe you could leave a link to my blog at the end? I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

