Poetry

Old Comforts

An old comfort hovers along my subconscious

It’s teasing me- this I remember

Offering to make everything momentarily better

But at a cost- this I also remember

*

If I go back to this old comfort

It was all pointless – this I know

All the writing, all the talking

Will have meant nothing- this I also know

*

So tonight instead, I will combine

My knowledge and my memories

To write an almost-poem

Dulling the hungry need

To resort to an old comfort

4 thoughts on “Old Comforts

Leave a Reply

