Poetry

Escape

Let me escape from the noise and the people

Both the physical and the ones in my head.

Let me hide away, to be alone

With only the natural sounds of rustling leaves

Crunching stones and cawing birds.

*

Let me read a book there, a new favourite

Under the shade of an evergreen

Let me hide away, to be alone

Pretending to be anywhere else but here

An unblemished land in the centre of the city.

*

Let me tell you how much it means to me

As you nod your head in agreement.

Let us hide away, to be alone …

*

Until you decide to forget its importance

And ruin my favourite place.

2 thoughts on “Escape

  1. Such a strong voice! I loved your use of the ellipsis and what follows afterward. An inevitable choice that could’ve been something totally opposite, yet, it wasn’t leaving us in disappointment. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

