Poetry

Alcohol Assumption

Presumptions based on lack of consumption

Antibiotics? Hungover? Pregnant? No.

Can’t you understand, I just don’t want to drink.

I don’t always enjoy going out anymore,

To get drunk, wasted, hammered or locked.

So stop asking for that girl, who moved her body

Not to the music, but to the rhythm of vodka

Flowing melodically through her body.

Stop asking for that girl who cried and laughed

Because she felt she needed to do both.

The happy and free teenage girl, who woke up

With wounds both internal and external.

*

Please understand that alcohol and I

We create a bastard of a love child

And I’m always left with post-partum depression.

I’m not unwell, I’m just sick of all the questions

All the looks of disappointment

For the choice I made for myself.

All the questions I’m tired of answering

And the fight I’m tired of fighting.

Presumptions based on lack of consumption

And judgments made when all I wanted

Was for people to stop judging me.

4 thoughts on “Alcohol Assumption

Leave a Reply

