Uncategorized

Writing Poetry

Writing poetry is something new to me as I only seriously began writing in the style around July 2014. It was definitely something I struggled to get the hang of, and even now I still feel like I have a lot to learn. I don’t see myself as a poet, nor a blogger, just a nineteen year old college student who likes to put her poetry on the internet. I’m nothing special, so I don’t feel these one-word titles apply to me. Despite feeling this way, poetry and blogging are extremely important and special to me. When I started writing poetry in college it opened me up to a whole new world of people, people who I have grown to love by reading their poetry. They have made me laugh and cry and I can only hope my poetry has the same effect on them. In my opinion, poetry is one of the most powerful mediums of writing.

To date, I have completed a total of 76 poems, all of which I have hand written in a notebook I bring everywhere with me. I’m fully aware that my poetry is of a mediocre standard. I’m not an aspiring writer nor do I have much faith in my poetry getting published in the future. But that is not something that particularly bothers me. Writing is a skill I have gained and one that will constantly grow as I learn more and more from the amazingly talented friends I have surrounded myself with. Anyone who reads my poems will see that I have yet to find a style I am fully comfortable with and at the same time a lot of my poems deal with similar themes and many images are repeated. I guess that is why I am always surprised when a new post I make gets such positive feedback. This blog has done so much in increasing my confidence Β as a writer.

I was writing poetry for a year before I decided to share it. A friend of mine has a blog of her own and she always encouraged me to start one so that I would be doing more with my poetry than just writing it down in one of my many journals. Since then I have become far more open with my poetry. I have even read aloud at open mics and Β I recently submitted a college assignment made up of some of my most personal poems, many of which have never even made it onto my blog.

When I first created this blog I planned for it to be comprised of a mixture of poetry and prose but recently I have only been posting my poems. I guess that is why I wrote this, so I could explain what this blog is to me and to also thank you for taking the time to read the poems I have written in lectures, on bus journeys and during late sleepless nights.

Go raibh maith agat.

(thank you)

14 thoughts on “Writing Poetry

  1. Albert Camus wrote: “Of all the schools of patience and lucidity, creation is the most effective. It is also the staggering evidence of man’s sole dignity: the dogged revolt against his condition, perseverance in an effort considered sterile. It calls for a daily effort, self-mastery, a precise estimate of the limits of truth, measure, and strength. It constitutes an ascesis. All that “for nothing,” in order to repeat and mark time. But perhaps the great work of art has less importance in itself than in the ordeal it demands of a man and the opportunity it provides him of overcoming his phantoms and approaching a little closer to his naked reality.”

    No matter what one make think of one’s own work or what others may think of one’s work, it is the ordeal involved in the creation of a poem (or whatever artistic form with which the psyche resonates) that contains the value. The same is true for the ordeal of the reader who engages another’s poem, even the poet going back and reading a poem written long ago.

    Keep up the great work, and it is, and thank you for sharing your poetry and your thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think I can relate with this, ’cause even I just began poetry this year. And it turned out to be one of the most fascinating things I’d ever gotten into.
    It was nice reading this, Len.
    Bless you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

