Poetry

Open Mic

I’m now comfortable reading my poetry aloud

A confidence that has been given and shared.

It’s a euphoric fear, both liberating and terrifying

And has led me those rooms for poetic expression

Lecture halls and libraries that induce exhilarating nerves

Standing on the podium, reading my words to strangers

Opening up in an already exposed room.

It is me and not the audience who feels naked.

A competition you don’t care for winning

The one time it’s the taking part that counts.

But when my name is called as a runner up

The feeling of pride is like no other –

I am not ashamed to be proud of what I can achieve.

*

This happiness is short lived though.

Crushed so easily in a sentence;

“Sure it’s only because the judge fancied ya”

8 thoughts on “Open Mic

Leave a Reply

