Poetry

Episode

Momentary bouts of insanity

As the inner maniac takes over again

Clawing at your own skin,

Get me out of this body!

I don’t want to be here.

I don’t want to be me.

Sit down, stand up, walk in circles

Moving but not getting anywhere

Because it’s your mind that’s on over-drive

And your body is just it’s vessel.

Thinking thoughtless thoughts again

What is the meaning of this?

Why do I feel like this?

A punishment for being me?

Or simply a side-effect of life?

Lost in my pointless imagination

Deep breaths, in and out – too quick, too slow

Wishing, praying just to control one thing,

Control. Control. Control.

Goddammit it’s my own mind!

‘Please calm down’ – my atheist prayer

As I desperately Β pleaΒ for peace.

Head in hands, then sitting on hands

Can you not control your own self?

Personal mantra, “you can get through this

Give it time, then control will come again.

It’s just another bad day,

This episode will eventually end.

One thought on “Episode

Leave a Reply

