Poetry

Inside Me

There is an animal inside me but I’m unsure what it is.

*

Sometimes it feels like a butterfly, fluttering its excited wings softly against my stomach.

Other times it’s a raven whose wings flap with an indescribable desperation as it tries to break free from my rib-cage.

Often it feel like a lion, whose roar travels up to mind without exiting my throat,

Or an elephant, unware of its size and strength, as it tramples the parts of me I need to function.

On some occasions this animal is the size of a mouse, timid and cautious, unsure of who to trust,

Or a tiny spider that instils disgust in those around it, simply for being.

But mostly it seems like a species unknown that has evolved inside me – a dark creature with claws and fangs, that scratches and bites, trying to destroy me from the inside out.

*

There is an animal inside me but I’m unsure what it is.

All I know is that it is desperate to be released

And it is willing tear me apart to do so.

2 thoughts on “Inside Me

Leave a Reply

