Uncategorized

100 Poems

Since June 2014 I have written a total of 100 poems.

It was only a few days ago that I wrote poem number 100. It was a simple one, inspired by a day of over indulging in the works of Sylvia Plath. It wasn’t anything spectacular, it certainly wasn’t a work of literary genius nor even one worth expanding on further. But it was my 100th poem. There’s something strangely exciting about reaching a milestone like that. I guess it’s strange because I never have, and probably never will, see myself as a poet. I’m just some-one who likes to put their thoughts into short metaphor-filled sentences. I’ve read hundreds of poems over the years by globally/ nationally renowned poets and even just poems written by my friends who want to make a name for themselves so I realise what high standard exists. But since the beginning writing has been therapeutic for me and I have always found the concision and rhythm of poetry calming. I started this blog as a way of broadening my access to other poetry blogs and also to show that anyone can give it a try. To date I have published 79 of my poems on this blog. The rest are either still part of a larger project I’m working on or private pieces. I plan on continuing setting myself goals and improving my writing, mainly through keeping up to date with this blog.

So here’s to the next 100 poems!

8 thoughts on “100 Poems

  1. Many congratulations on reaching 100. I’ve written just over 1500, although my early ones were song lyrics and were awful. I keep all good and bad as they are a diary to me. I have kept them private until now so will be posting regularly and will be very interested in what you come up with in the future. The best of luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

