Poetry

Darkness

She whispers in my ear, telling me I am nothing.

She stands behind me when I look in the mirror,

She pinches my fat like it’s play-doh.

She unbuttons my jeans, examines my thighs

She tells me I should try harder next time.

She makes sure I know I will never be good enough.

She is there with me as I try to comfort a crying friend,

She won’t let me forget that it is all my fault.

She reminds me that I hurt everyone I love.

She sits beside me on the couch, the space between me and him,

She points out everything about me he probably hates.

She makes sure I know I will never be good enough.

She replays every memory for me like a horror movie reel.

She shouts in my ear so I can never block her out.

She reminds me of how close we once were.

She tells me no one will ever love me like she does.

She holds my hand as I write, asks why I don’t just give up.

She makes sure I know I will never be good enough.

 

She is the darkness to my light.

 

She is me.

14 thoughts on “Darkness

Leave a Reply

